Schedule

Tuesday, Sep 21

08:00 – 16:00 EDT
14:00 – 22:00 CEST

Satellite Workshops

Please find detailled programs and individual schedules of the Workshops here.

Wednesday, Sep 22

06:00 EDT
12:00 CEST

Welcome

06:15 EDT
12:15 CEST

Keynote Lecture
Timothy Behrens
| University of Oxford, UK
Representing the structure of problems in the frontal hippocampal circuitry

07:00 EDT
13:00 CEST

15 min break

07:15 EDT
13:15 CEST

Invited Lecture 1
Nadine Gogolla
| Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology, Martinsried, Germany
Disentangling the neural basis of emotion

08:00 EDT
14:00 CEST

Contributed Talk 1
Alireza Modirshanechi
| Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland
Novelty drives exploration, whereas surprise modulates learning: the interaction of novelty, surprise, and reward in human behavior

08:15 EDT
14:15 CEST

Poster Session 1
Poster number 1-52, 117

09:30 EDT
15:30 CEST

15 min break

09:45 EDT
15:45 CEST

Invited Lecture 2
Guillaume Hennequin
| University of Cambridge, UK
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail: a network theory of movement preparation and execution

10:30 EDT
16:30 CEST

Contributed Talk 2
Claire Meissner-Bernard
| Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research, Basel, Switzerland
Co-tuned, balanced excitation and inhibition in olfactory memory networks

10:45 EDT
16:45 CEST

15 min break

11:00 EDT
17:00 CEST

Invited Lecture 3
Marion Silies
Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany
Strategies for vision in dynamically changing environments

11:45 EDT
17:45 CEST

Contributed Talk 3
Anna Kutschireiter
| Harvard Medical School, Boston MA, USA
A Bayesian Perspective on the Fruit Fly’s Internal Compass

12:00 EDT
18:00 CEST

Poster Session 2
Poster number 53-105, 203

13:15 EDT
19:15 CEST

15 min break

13:30 EDT
19:30 CEST

Invited Lecture 4
Cristina Savin
| New York University, USA
Task-specific routing of information in neural circuits via structured noise

14:15 EDT
20:15 CEST

Contributed Talk 4
Torben Ott
| Washington University in Saint Louis, USA
Near-optimal time investments under uncertainty in humans, rats, and mice

14:30 EDT
20:30 CEST

Invited Lecture 5
Scott Linderman Stanford University, USA
Finding sequences in neural spike trains with Neyman-Scott processes

15:15 EDT
21:15 CEST

Postdoc Meeting

Thursday, Sep 23

06:00 EDT
12:00 CEST

Invited Lecture 6
Athena Akrami |University College London, UK
Formation and update of sensory “prior distributions” in working memory and perceptual decision making tasks

 

06:45 EDT
12:45 CEST

Contributed Talk 5
Ahnaf Ashhab Pathan | Quantitative Neuroscience Lab, Systems Cortex, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Fully topographic deep artificial neural network for reconstructing functional heterogeneity and internal representations of visual cortex

07:00 EDT
13:00 CEST

15 min break

07:15 EDT
13:15 CEST

Invited Lecture 7
Daniela Vallentin
| Max Planck Institute for Ornithology, Seewiesen, Germany
Neural control of vocal interactions in songbirds

08:00 EDT
14:00 CEST

Contributed Talk 6
Manuel Beiran
| École Normale Supérieure – PSL University, Paris, France
Learning parametric models of cognitive tasks through low-dimensional neural manifolds

08:15 EDT
14:15 CEST

Poster Session 3
Poster number 106-157 (w/o 117)

09:30 EDT
15:30 CEST

15 min break

09:45 EDT
15:45 CEST

Invited Lecture 8
Ida Momennejad
| Microsoft Research, New York City, USA
Multi-scale Predictive Representations & Human-like RL

10:30 EDT
16:30 CEST

Contributed Talk 7
Yul HR Kang
|University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom
Spatial uncertainty provides a unifying account of navigation behavior and grid field deformations

10:45 EDT
16:45 CEST

15 min break

11:00 EDT
17:00 CEST

Invited Lecture 9
Ashok Litwin Kumar
|Columbia University, New York City, USA
Generalizing theories of cerebellum-like learning

11:45 EDT
17:45 CEST

Contributed Talk 8
Badr Albanna
|University of Pittburgh, Pittsburgh PA, USA
Distinct synaptic plasticity mechanisms determine the diversity of cortical responses during behavior

12:00 EDT
18:00 CEST

Poster Session 4
Poster number 158-209 (w/o 203)

13:15 EDT
19:15 CEST

15 min break

13:30 EDT
19:30 CEST

Invited Lecture 10
Jennifer Li & Drew Robson
|Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics, Tübingen, Germany
A dynamical systems view of neuroethology: uncovering stateful computation during zebrafish foraging

14:15 EDT
20:15 CEST

Braitenberg Award Ceremony & Lecture
Eve Marder
| Brandeis University, Waltham, USA
Perturbations Reveal that Degenerate Circuits Hide Cryptic Individual Variability

Friday, Sep 24

07:45 – 13:40 EDT
13:45 – 19:40 CEST

PhD Symposium

Please find a detailed program and schedule of the PhD Symposium here.