Schräge Slider StartseiteSchräge Slider Startseite

Get to know the Bernstein Network!

Get to know the Bernstein Network!

Bernstein Network Computational Neuroscience

Bernstein Network Computational Neuroscience

moremore
Schräge Slider StartseiteSchräge Slider Startseite

Search and find scientists now!

Search and find scientists now!

Find a Scientist

Find a Scientist

more
Schräge Slider StartseiteSchräge Slider Startseite

Bernstein Conference 2024

Bernstein Conference 2024

Bernstein Conference

Bernstein Conference

more

Welcome

The Bernstein Network Computational Neuroscience connects experimental and theoretical scientists. It comprises more than 200 research groups and 450 individual scientists from all over the world who combine experimental neuroscientific approaches with theoretical models and computer simulations.

The Bernstein Network was launched in 2004 through a major funding initiative of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) which aimed at advancing the transfer of theoretical knowledge to clinical and technical applications. The network is named after the German physiologist and biophysicist Julius Bernstein (1839-1917).

News

Freiburg July 8, 2024

Penghao Qian from China receives the Brains for Brains Award 2024

With the Brains for Brains Award, the Bernstein Network Computational Neuroscience honors young scientists who pursue a career in computational neuroscience and whose publication portfolio reveals outstanding merit at a very early stage of their careers. This year’s Brains for Brains Award, endowed with € 2000, goes to Penghao Qian from China. It enables Qian to visit the Bernstein Conference and exclusive laboratories in the field of computational neuroscience in Germany. The award will be presented at the Bernstein Conference on October 2, 2024, in Frankfurt am Main.

Aachen July 1, 2024

The Significance of Software in the Field of Science

A group of 14 scientists, the majority of whom work or have worked at the Käte Hamburger Kolleg: Cultures of Research (c:o/re) at RWTH Aachen University, has published an article on the lack of attention paid to software in "Nature Computational Science".

Jülich June 24, 2024

Update of the Julich-Brain Atlas – new data for brain models

Release 3.1 of the Julich Brain Atlas has been published and can be freely downloaded through the EBRAINS research infrastructure. The updated brain atlas now gives online access to 52 new probability maps of cortical and subcortical structures in a three-dimensional reference space. Programming interfaces for the computational neurosciences simplify the integration of the data into brain models.

Tübingen June 13, 2024

From dawdling to doing: the science of procrastination

Procrastination, the deliberate but detrimental deferring of tasks, has many forms. Sahiti Chebolu of the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics uses a precise mathematical framework to understand its different patterns and their underlying reasons. Her insights could help tailor individual strategies to tackle the issue.

Events

Bernstein Conference

Bernstein Conference 2024

Registration

Important Dates & FAQ

Calls

African-German Scientific Exchange in the Field of Neurosciences

The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) invites interested researchers from all African countries and Germany to engage in a scientific exchange in the field of neurosciences.

This initiative covers all research questions that are primarily concerned with neurosciences. Subject areas include basic, applied and clinical topics. Research questions concerning neglected tropical infectious diseases in humans and animals as well as their social and behavioural aspects are excluded from the initiative and will not be considered to be within the scope of the call.

The aim of the initiative is for participating researchers to identify joint interests in the area of neurosciences and initiate new collaborative ventures.

Deadline: 29.02.2024

Förderung von Projekten in der Forschungs- und Innovationszusammenarbeit mit den Ländern der Östlichen Partnerschaft und Zentralasiens

Ziel des Förderaufrufs ist es, die Forschungspartner:innen aus den Ländern der Östlichen Partnerschaft über gemeinsame Forschungs- und Innovationsprojekte in den europäischen Forschungsraum (ERA) besser einzubinden. Damit soll ein Beitrag dazu geleistet werden, einen gemeinsamen Wissens- und Innovationsraum zwischen der EU und den offiziellen und potenziellen Beitrittskandidat:innen sowie weiteren Ländern der Östlichen Partnerschaft zu schaffen. Dieses Ziel kann durch die Vernetzung und Kooperation mit erfahrenen und innovationsstarken Partnereinrichtungen unterstützt werden.

Deadline: 13.03.2024

Funding Opportunities for Costa Rican-German Research Projects: First Joint Call (CONARE-DFG)

This initiative aims to bring together relevant and competitive researchers from Germany and Costa Rica to design and carry out jointly organised research projects of outstanding scientific quality.

Deadline: 30.04.2024

Schräge Slider StartseiteSchräge Slider Startseite

Lernen Sie das Bernstein Netzwerk kennen!

Lernen Sie das Bernstein Netzwerk kennen!

Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience

Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience

mehrmehr
Schräge Slider StartseiteSchräge Slider Startseite

Jetzt Wissenschaftler:innen suchen und finden!

Jetzt Wissenschaftler:innen suchen und finden!

Wissenschaftler:innen finden

Wissenschaftler:innen finden

mehr
Schräge Slider StartseiteSchräge Slider Startseite

Bernstein Conference 2024

Bernstein Conference 2024

Bernstein Conference

Bernstein Conference

mehr

Willkommen beim Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience

Das Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience verbindet experimentell und theoretisch arbeitende Neurowissenschaftler:innen. Es umfasst mehr als 200 Forschungsgruppen und 450 individuelle Mitglieder aus aller Welt, die experimentelle neurowissenschaftliche Ansätze mit theoretischen Modellen und Computersimulationen verbinden.

Das Bernstein Netzwerk wurde 2004 durch eine umfangreiche Förderinitiative des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) ins Leben gerufen. Ziel war es unter anderem, den Transfer von theoretischen Erkenntnissen hin zu klinischen und technischen Anwendungen voranzubringen. Namensgeber ist der deutsche Physiologe und Biophysiker Julius Bernstein (1839-1917).

Aktuelles

Freiburg 8. Juli 2024

Penghao Qian aus China erhält den Brains for Brains Nachwuchspreis 2024

Mit dem Brains for Brains Nachwuchspreis zeichnet das Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience junge Wissenschaftler:innen aus, die eine Karriere in der Computational Neuroscience anstreben und deren Publikationsliste bereits in einem sehr frühen Stadium ihrer Karriere herausragende Leistungen erkennen lässt. Der diesjährige Brains for Brains Nachwuchspreis, der mit 2000 € dotiert ist, geht an Penghao Qian aus China. Er ermöglicht Qian den Besuch der Bernstein Conference und exklusiver Labore auf dem Gebiet der Computational Neuroscience in Deutschland. Der Preis wird im Rahmen der Bernstein Conference am 2. Oktober 2024 in Frankfurt am Main verliehen.

Aachen 1. Juli 2024

Die Bedeutung von Software in der Wissenschaft

Eine Gruppe aus 14 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern, von denen die Mehrzahl am Käte Hamburger Kolleg: Cultures of Research (c:o/re) an der RWTH Aachen tätig sind oder waren, hat einen Artikel über die fehlende Beachtung von Software in der „Nature Computational Science“ veröffentlicht.

Jülich 24. Juni 2024

Update des Julich Brain Atlas – neue Daten für Hirnmodelle

Version 3.1 des Julich Brain Atlas wurde veröffentlicht und kann kostenlos über die europäische Forschungsinfrastruktur EBRAINS heruntergeladen werden. Im Atlas hinzugekommen sind 52 neue Wahrscheinlichkeitskarten von kortikalen und subkortikalen Strukturen in einem dreidimensionalen Referenzraum. Für die Computational Neurosciences wurden zusätzlich Programmier-Schnittstellen entwickelt, die die Integration der Daten in Gehirnmodelle vereinfachen.

Tübingen 13. Juni 2024

Bearbeiten oder bummeln: die Wissenschaft des Prokrastinierens

Prokrastination, das willentliche und schädliche Aufschieben von Aufgaben, kennt viele Formen. Mithilfe einer mathematischen Theorie klassifiziert Sahiti Chebolu vom MPI für biologische Kybernetik ihre verschiedenen Arten und untersucht die dahinterstehenden Ursachen. Ihre Erkenntnisse könnten dabei helfen, Bewältigungsstrategien individuell maßzuschneidern.

Veranstaltungen

Bernstein Conference

Bernstein Conference 2024

Registration

Important Dates & FAQ

Ausschreibungen

African-German Scientific Exchange in the Field of Neurosciences

The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) invites interested researchers from all African countries and Germany to engage in a scientific exchange in the field of neurosciences.

This initiative covers all research questions that are primarily concerned with neurosciences. Subject areas include basic, applied and clinical topics. Research questions concerning neglected tropical infectious diseases in humans and animals as well as their social and behavioural aspects are excluded from the initiative and will not be considered to be within the scope of the call.

The aim of the initiative is for participating researchers to identify joint interests in the area of neurosciences and initiate new collaborative ventures.

Deadline: 29.02.2024

Förderung von Projekten in der Forschungs- und Innovationszusammenarbeit mit den Ländern der Östlichen Partnerschaft und Zentralasiens

Ziel des Förderaufrufs ist es, die Forschungspartner:innen aus den Ländern der Östlichen Partnerschaft über gemeinsame Forschungs- und Innovationsprojekte in den europäischen Forschungsraum (ERA) besser einzubinden. Damit soll ein Beitrag dazu geleistet werden, einen gemeinsamen Wissens- und Innovationsraum zwischen der EU und den offiziellen und potenziellen Beitrittskandidat:innen sowie weiteren Ländern der Östlichen Partnerschaft zu schaffen. Dieses Ziel kann durch die Vernetzung und Kooperation mit erfahrenen und innovationsstarken Partnereinrichtungen unterstützt werden.

Deadline: 13.03.2024

Funding Opportunities for Costa Rican-German Research Projects: First Joint Call (CONARE-DFG)

This initiative aims to bring together relevant and competitive researchers from Germany and Costa Rica to design and carry out jointly organised research projects of outstanding scientific quality.

Deadline: 30.04.2024